Matthew Porter

Matthew Porter

Specialism: Private Client

Tell us about your career.

I began my career in the education sector, working as an IT consultant visiting schools throughout the UK. I then combined my skills and experience with legal studies and qualified as a solicitor, training with a leading Surrey-based firm. Since qualifying as a solicitor I have worked locally and I joined Bookers & Bolton in 2014 as an Associate Solicitor working in the Private Client department and have recently been promoted to Partner.

In which areas of law do you specialise?
I am a solicitor who advises on Wills, Administration of Estates and issues surrounding mental capacity, including Lasting Powers of Attorney and Court of Protection matters. I am a member of Solicitors for the Elderly which is a national organisation of lawyers who provide specialist independent legal advice for older and vulnerable people, their families and carers. I am also a Dementia Friend, part of an Alzheimer’s Society initiative which aims to make everyday life better for people with dementia by changing the way the nation thinks, talks and acts.

What do you offer the clients of Bookers & Bolton?
I became a solicitor because I wanted to work directly with people. I believe that a good solicitor has the ability to listen, to solve problems and to communicate solutions clearly and with empathy. I approach all of my work with this in mind, however difficult the circumstances. Frequently clients tell me that coming to see me was easier than they expected it to be.

Do you offer home visits or out of hours appointments?
Yes, I am happy to visit clients in their homes or in hospitals at a time that suits them.

Tell us about you.

Where did you grow up and what are your earliest memories?
I grew up in Oxfordshire and my earliest memories are of helping my grandparents in the kitchen of the village pub that they ran.

What was your first job?
I had a weekend job in a garden centre.

What are your hobbies?
I have always enjoyed watching and playing football and still play 5-a-side every week.

What are you most likely to do on a day off?
My days off are spent with my young children, keeping them entertained.

What country would you most like to visit and why?
One day I would like to visit Iceland to see the Northern Lights.

What are your personal ambitions?
To have happy children and to write a book.